Do the work that feeds your soul, not your ego

When I first decided that I was interested in nutrition I was 16 years old. I had just been diagnosed with type 1 diabetes that year and I had switched to a new highschool facing two very big life changes. I had an amazing Registered Dietitian that taught me how to carb count and learn how to give myself insulin. Her support during my diagnosis was vital and led me to become very interested in nutrition and food. It started becoming a hobby of mine to go grocery shopping and getting excited over reading nutrition labels and comparing different food products.

Although at the time it wasn’t something I was thinking about as my career path, I knew that I really enjoyed analyzing what made one product better then the other, why did I enjoy the taste of a product compared to the brand right next to it, and what was the health benefit I received from these products.

Since being in my internship, I think I’ve hyper-focused on knowing as much as possible about clinical related nutrition that I lost sight of what makes me the happiest with nutrition. That is to be able to build rapport with patients and to bring education to them about things they may not be aware of. I love teaching carbohydrate counting for newly diagnosed diabetics, high and low phosphorous foods for renal patients, and so on.

I think it is easy to get wrapped up in whatever is going on throughout our week, but for me I am choosing to take a step back and look at the whole picture. Rather then putting a magnifying glass over the parts that I feel I have to perfect, I will allow myself to be present and enjoy the moment.

 

 

Leave a Reply

